The Spy.

In our game you play as a spy. This spy infiltrates the company to obtain the company’s data. The data contains plans and blueprints for technology that is much more superior to the rest of the worlds. The spy is like a modern Robin Hood in the setting of the 1940s with more technology.  The spy steal data from the superior company’s and give the data to less superior companies that make the technology accessible for the common man.

To succeed with the mission the spy are able to sneak past the guards or kill the guard. To be able to sneak past the guards the spy can use the sneak mode. This mode makes so that the spy are quieter which results in that it’s harder for the guards to detect the spy. The spy can also hide in special hiding spots like lockers where the guards won’t find the spy. The spy can then wait for the guard to walk past and then walk out of the hiding spot and ether kill the guard or to sneak on. To kill the guard the spy must be in sneak mode to sneak up behind the guard and kill it.

I got assigned to draw the spy as well after I had drawn the guard. I didn’t have to draw the spy from scratch since I got the feedback on the guard that it was the way the spy was thought to look. So I just redid that design. At this point we had realized that the sprite sheet we took inspiration from was the wrong angle. So there was just to redo the design again.

We had decided that the guard shouldn’t be completely gray or any gray at all. So I asked what color the spy should have and the answer I got was brown. But when I implemented it I saw that it did not work. It looked like poo. So I tried around with different colors and ended up with one gray with lighter gray hat and one gray with red hat. The discussion that went on when brown was decides was that the spy should not stand out since it is a sneak game. That’s why the guards ended up being gray. The red and lighter hat was so that you should see it.

When I had done the colors I realized that the pose in the sprite was completely wrong.  So I had to redraw the sprite again. The finished sprite ended up being the alpha sprite.

4

One thought on “The Spy.

  1. First of all I think that it was pretty interesting to get a bit of the story as well while you were writing about the process of making the main character.
    But the mission, as you retrieve information, is that something that will be relevant for the development of the main character as well in any way? Would he perhaps get better equipment from the technology that you steal, or would all equipment be stolen from guards?

    Also I was a bit curious about how you wrote that the guard looked like what you wanted the main character to look, but it appears that you already wrote about that in your previous post.

    However, what was wrong with the spritesheet that you used as a reference? Was it the angle of the character, as in his posture, or was it some other angle that was wrong? It would have been interesting to see a part of it if it led to you having to redraw the sprites, but perhaps it’s copyrighted material that you can’t show here.

    Something I thought about while I read your blog-post was that you generally wrote a bit sparingly about certain things, like how/why you did things, but other than that I thought is was nice reading.

Leave a comment